IST Program Competencies

The IST program strives to map all their courses to higher standards as proposed by AECT, ISTE and NCDPI.



AECT is a professional association of thousands of educators and others whose activities are directed toward improving instruction through technology. (

To read the entire list of competencies Click here

Standard 1 (Content Knowledge): Candidates demonstrate the knowledge necessary to create, use, assess, and manage theoretical and practical applications of educational technologies and processes.

Standard 2 (Content Pedagogy): Candidates develop as reflective practitioners able to demonstrate effective implementation of educational technologies and processes based on contemporary content and pedagogy.

Standard 3 (Learning Environments): Candidates facilitate learning (p. 41) by creating, using, evaluating, and managing effective learning environments. (p. 1)

Standard 4 (Professional Knowledge and Skills): Candidates design, develop, implement, and evaluate technology-rich learning environments within a supportive community of practice.

Standard 5 (Research): Candidates explore, evaluate, synthesize, and apply methods of inquiry to enhance learning (p. 4) and improve performance (pp. 6-7).


International Society for Performance Improvement (ISPI)

To read the entire list of standards click here.

Standard 1: Focus on Results or Outcomes
Standard 2: Take a Systemic View
Standard 3: Add Value
Standard 4: Work in Partnership with Clients and Stakeholders
Standard 5: Determine Need or Opportunity
Standard 6: Determine Cause
Standard 7: Design Solutions including Implementation and Evaluation
Standard 8: Ensure Solutions’ Conformity and Feasibility
Standard 9: Implement Solutions
Standard 10: Evaluate Results and Impact



ISTE Standards for Technology Coaches

To read the entire list of competencies Click here.

Standard 1: (Visionary Leadership) Technology coaches inspire and participate in the development and implementation of a shared vision for the comprehensive integration of technology to promote excellence and support transformational change throughout the instructional environment.

Standard 2: (Teaching, Learning, & Assessments) Technology coaches assist teachers in using technology effectively for assessing student learning, differentiating instruction, and providing rigorous, relevant, and engaging learning experiences for all students.

Standard 3: (Digital-Age Learning Environments) Technology coaches create and support effective digital-age learning environments to maximize the learning of all students.

Standard 4: (Professional Development & Program Evaluation) Technology coaches conduct needs assessments, develop technology-related professional learning programs, and evaluate the impact on instructional practice and student learning.

Standard 5: (Digital Citizenship) Technology coaches model and promote digital citizenship.


North Carolina Department of Public Instruction (NCDPI) Facilitator Standards

To read the entire list of competencies Click here.

Standard 1: Instructional technology facilitators demonstrate leadership.

Standard 2: Instructional technology facilitators demonstrate knowledge of learners and learning and promote effective instructional practices in a 21st century learning environment.

Standard 3: Instructional technology facilitators facilitate the implementation of a comprehensive 21st century instructional technology program.

Standard 4: Instructional technology facilitators build a learning environment that meets the instructional needs of all students.

Standard 5: Instructional technology facilitators actively reflect on their practice.